Media Release

August 28, 2012

The Regional Municipality of York wants all road users to stay safe and alert in school areas

Fifty-seven Community Safety Zones designated with increased fines
The Regional Municipality of York is implementing Community Safety Zones in 57 areas to improve pedestrian safety in places where children and young people frequently walk. The changes are effective as students return to school in September.
“As our communities grow and change, the safety of our residents, particularly vulnerable children and young people, remains paramount,” said York Region Chairman and CEO Bill Fisch. “Introducing Community Safety Zones to school areas is one of the ways we help keep York Region’s neighbourhoods safe.”
Community Safety Zones are designated on Regional roadways near schools, day-care centres, retirement residences and other high collision locations in the Region. Traffic laws and speed limits remain the same in Community Safety Zones, but fines are increased for motorists.
“Regional Council has implemented Community Safety Zones to emphasize how seriously aggressive driving affects our community,” said Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville Mayor Wayne Emmerson, Chair of the Region’s Transportation Services Committee. “As students return to the classroom in the fall, it’s more important than ever to make sure everyone remains safe while travelling through those zones.”
Unlike School Zones, Community Safety Zone bylaws are enforceable 24 hours per day, year round regardless of when the school is in operation. The aim is to modify driver behaviour to increase safety for pedestrians, cyclists and other motorists.  
“Both motorists and pedestrians have the right to feel safe while using the road and aggressive or distracted driving puts everyone at risk,” said York Regional Police Chief Eric Jolliffe. “All road users should always be aware of each other by staying alert and focused.”
Community Safety Zones are being implemented as part of York Region’s fall Pedestrian Safety Campaign, I need to feel safe. For more information and to view a list of all the Community Safety Zones effective this fall, please visit
- 30 -
Media Contact: Kim MacGillivray, Corporate Communications, The Regional Municipality of York
905-830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1209  Cell: 905-251-6412 

Founded in 1971, The Regional Municipality of York is made up of nine municipalities
and provides services to more than one million residents, 29,000 businesses and 495,000 employees.

 For more information visit us at Follow us on : York Region   @YorkRegionGovt  
Back to top