May 31, 2004

York Region expands Regional Forest with new property acquisition

NEWMARKET As part of its Greening Strategy, the Regional Municipality of York has purchased a 60-acre property on the Oak Ridges Moraine in Whitchurch-Stouffville to expand the York Regional Forest. 
"Our Greening Strategy places a heavy emphasis on the expansion of our forest cover," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch.  "The acquisition of this property is another vital step in accomplishing this objective."
The property sits adjacent to the York Regional Forest's Hall Tract, land that was successfully rehabilitated after much of the area had been cleared for farming years ago.  To extend the forest cover, the Region will begin to re-introduce native tree and plant species to the site following the completion of a comprehensive Reforestation Management Plan later this year. 
"This property purchase will allow us to protect even more of the Oak Ridges Moraine," said Richmond Hill Mayor Bill Bell, Chair of the Region's Transportation and Works Committee.  "Once reforested, this property will make an excellent addition to the York Regional Forest and stand as a shining example of the Region's conservation efforts."
The 60 acres were acquired from the Calandra family of Whitchurch-Stouffville, who recently donated a conservation easement on the property to the Oak Ridges Moraine Land Trust.  The easement protects the property from development in perpetuity.
Community planting events for the property are scheduled to begin in 2005, which will see the start of the conversion from farm lands and woodland patches into a healthy and diverse woodland ecosystem.
For more information about the Greening Strategy, the York Regional Forest, or Forest events, please contact Sandra Malcic, Regional Greening Co-ordinator at (905) 830-4444 ext. 5274.
For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:
Contact:   Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications, York Region
- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1232
- Email:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top