January 16, 2004

York Region allocates nearly $75,000 to agencies serving homeless


NEWMARKET The Regional Municipality of York allocated a total of $73,854 dollars in winter needs funding to 12 community agencies and organizations serving the homeless.  The agencies include four organizations that operate Out of the Cold programs, the Canadian Mental Health Association of York Region, Transit Georgina, Krasman Centre, Yellow Brick House, Transitional and Supportive Housing Services, Pathways for Children, Youth and Families, and Crosslinks Housing and Support Services.


"This funding will benefit homeless and at-risk individuals and families in our community, including youth to women and children who are victims of violence," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch.


In October 2003, York Region issued a request for proposals to community agencies serving the homeless community or those at risk of being homeless to apply for Winter Needs Funding, under York Region's Community Development Investment Funding Strategy.


"This initiative provides one of few opportunities for agencies serving the homeless to access funding of up to $7,000 for minor capital items and improvements," said Newmarket Mayor Tom Taylor, Chair of the Region's Community Services and Housing Committee. "This includes the purchase of supplies such as food, furnishings and appliances, as well as capital improvements to facilities, emergency shelter and transportation."


For a complete list of the agencies and organizations that received 2003/2004 Winter Needs Funding under the Region's Community Development Investment Funds, see the attached list.


For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca



Contact:           Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

- (905) 830-4444 or (416) 297-9696, ext. 1238

- Email: wendy.lewis@region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top