December 23, 2004

York Region Transit (YRT) fares to change in New Year

NEWMARKET On January 1, 2005, York Region Transit (YRT) will standardize cash fares at $2.25 as part of an overall fare restructuring.  Additionally, tickets for adults and students will increase by 10 cents and children 20 cents, while tickets for seniors will remain unchanged.
The change will bring fares more in line with other Greater Toronto Area (GTA) transit services, and allow YRT to collect just over $1 million in additional revenue to fund additional operational expenditures for 2005.
The fare adjustment is the result of an annual review, conducted to ensure a sustainable rate of return, provide discount options for regular YRT customers and ensure GTA-wide fare consistency for the upcoming year.
"These very reasonable fare adjustments will allow York Region Transit to proceed with planned operational improvements for 2005," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch.  "York Region Transit continues to be a very economical way for our residents to travel, and offers one of the most competitive fare structures in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA).
YRT leads the GTA with one of the highest percentage increases of riders in the country, with a consistently high growth rate of 10 per cent per year since the service was amalgamated in 2001.
For a full breakdown of the new YRT fare structure, please see the attached Fact Sheet.
For more information about YRT routes, schedules and fares, visit the York Region Transit (YRT) Web site at or call toll-free at 1-866-MOVE-YRT (668-3978) to speak with a YRT Customer Service Representative.
For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:
Contact:   Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications, York Region
- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1232
- Email:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:
Back to top