April 23, 2004

Georgina resident Barbara Munro appointed to the Regional Municipality of York Police Services Board

April 23, 2004 Georgina resident Barbara Munro appointed to the Regional Municipality of York Police Services Board
NEWMARKET – York Regional Council yesterday appointed Georgina resident Barbara Munro as a citizen member to The Regional Municipality of York Police Services Board, effective May 2, 2004.  Ms. Munro replaces Vic Wilson, who completes his term on April 30, 2004.
“Ms. Munro has many years working for the Ministry of the Attorney General and has acquired superior knowledge in the interpretation and application of Statutes, Regulations and By-laws, making her an ideal citizen member to the Police Services Board,” said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch.  “Regional Council and the Police Services Board appreciate the many years of dedicated service Mr. Wilson has provided to the Board since 1999.”
Ms. Munro was chosen from a total 86 applicants who responded to advertisements placed in all local newspapers in York Region in December 2003 asking for applications from citizens to sit on the Police Services Board.
In addition to her legal experience, Ms. Munro is active in her community serving on the Boards of the Sutton Agricultural Society, Georgina Historical Society, Hospice Georgina/Chippewas of Georgina Island, and the Knox United Church – Health Committee.
A panel consisting of Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch; Richmond Hill Regional Councillor David Barrow, Chair of the Police Services Board; and Georgina Regional Councillor Danny Wheeler, Vice-Chair of the Police Services Board, unanimously chose Ms. Munro after interviews from a short list of five individuals.
“I’d like to thank the Board members for their support and confidence in appointing me to the Board,” said Barbara Munro.  “I look forward to working with fellow members and Chief Armand La Barge in promoting the York Regional Police Service.  As the citizen appointee, I welcome the challenge to serve my community and to ensure all citizens in York Region continue to enjoy safety in their own neighbourhoods.”
Ms. Munro’s term runs until November 30, 2006, or until her successor is appointed.
The Regional Municipality of York Police Services Board is a seven member civilian Board that oversees the York Regional Police.  Four Board members are appointed by Regional Council and three by the Province of Ontario.
Under Ontario’s Police Services Act, the Board has a duty to ensure that effective and efficient police services, including crime prevention, are provided to the residents and visitors to York Region.      -30-
Contact:   Patrick Casey, Acting Director, Corporate Communications Services
  (905) 830-4444, Ext. 1235 or cell (905) 715-8211

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top