September 18, 2003

York Region approves $539 million over five years for rapid transit plan

NEWMARKET – York Regional Council today approved a $539 million contribution to the York Region Rapid Transit Plan (YRTP) over five years.  The funding represents a one-third share of $1.6 billion, necessary for full rapid transit implementation. It is contingent upon cost-matching from the Provincial and Federal governments.


“These funds will allow us to move forward with a long-term plan for rapid transit in the region,” said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch.  “Our task now lies in convincing senior levels of government to move forward with us to create a fully-comprehensive and sustainable rapid transit system.”


The funding was announced as part of the newly amended York Region Rapid Transit Business Plan for Phase 2 of its rapid transit system.  Phase 2 is scheduled to take place between 2005 and 2010.  It includes full bus rapid transit (BRT) implementation in key corridors, with design standards that can be converted to light rail transit (LRT) when warranted.


Phase 1, also known as Quick Start, is already underway.  It includes the initial implementation of BRT along Highway 7 and Yonge Street.  The Region, the Province and the Federal Government each recently committed $50 million to fund the Quick Start program.


Submissions will be made to the Federal Government’s Canada Strategic Infrastructure fund and the Province’s SuperBuild fund for support.


The YRTP is focused on providing rapid transit along four major corridors connecting four regional centres. They are:

Costs for full implementation of the YRTP range from $2.4 billion and $4.1 billion over the next 30 years, depending on the choice of technologies and the extent of system facilities.

For more information on the YRTP, please visit

For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:




Contact:            Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications, York Region

- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1232

- Email:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top