September 18, 2003

Asian Longhorned Beetle discovered in York Region

NEWMARKET The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) last week confirmed the first infestation of the Asian Longhorned Beetle in Canada, in an industrial area bordered by Highway 400, Highway 407 and Milvan Drive in the City of Vaughan. 


The beetle is an invasive quarantine insect native to Asia, know to kill healthy trees.  While it poses no risk to public health, it is a significant risk to Canadas trees and forests. It has no natural controls in North America that would prevent its spread.


Weve known for some time that the Asian Longhorned Beetle may show up in Canada, said York Regional Forester Ian Buchanan.  We developed an action plan back in 1999 to control the spread of this insect, and we will work closely with the CFIA and our partners and stakeholders to ensure that our trees our protected.


The CFIA is implementing an aggressive campaign to control and eradicate this unwanted pest with the full cooperation of the Regional Municipality of York, the City of Vaughan, the City of Toronto and other federal and provincial partners.


Several broadleaf species of trees are at risk from this insect, including all species of maple, along with elm, ash, poplars, alder, arbutus and willow trees.  Evergreen or coniferous trees are not at risk.


Should the beetle be found, residents are urged to call the CFIA hotline at 1-800-442-2342.  CFIA staff will assess all reports and send inspectors if necessary. 


Residents are urged not to transport the beetle, or remove potentially affected trees. 


Additional information is available on the CFIA Web site at


For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:




Contact:            Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications, York Region

- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1232

- Email:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top