October 15, 2003

York Region EMS makes Fall Food Drive delivery to York Region Food Network

RICHMOND HILL – Two Emergency Response Vehicles carrying approximately 500 pounds of non-perishable foods were delivered this morning by York Region Emergency Medical Services to the Richmond Hill Community Food Bank as part of the York Region Fall Food Drive.  Richmond Hill Mayor Bill Bell; Regional Councillor Brenda Hogg; Lisa DiSera, Executive Director of the York Region Food Network; and Joann Simmons, Commissioner of York Region Community Services and Housing, were on hand for the food pick up from the York Region South Services Centre in Richmond Hill.
The Regional Municipality of York began collecting food from staff and visitors on October 6th as part of the York Region Fall Food Drive.  York Region EMS will pick up food items collected from York Region office locations and deliver them to the local food banks.
The public can drop off non-perishable food items until October 24th at the following York Region offices:
• York Region South Services Centre - 50 High Tech Road in Richmond Hill
(Collection boxes are located on each floor and by the elevators on the main floor)
• York Region Administrative Centre - 17250 Yonge Street, Newmarket
(Collection box is located in the Great Hall)
• The Tannery - 465 Davis Drive, Newmarket
(Collection box is located on the 2nd Floor Food Court, near Mitaya’s Fine Food)
For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca
For more information about the York Region Food Network (YRFN), visit www.yrfn.ca
Contact:   Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region
- (905) 830-4444 or (416) 297-9696, ext. 1238
-E-mail: wendy.lewis@region.york.on.ca
Rosanne Rodgers, Director of Communications, YRFN – (905) 895-1007 or
Lisa DiSera, Executive Director, YRFN – (905) 967-0428
-E-mail:  yrfn@bellnet.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top