November 27, 2003

ABC (All Babies Count) prenatal nutrition program helps York Region's Moms-To-Be

 NEWMARKET - The ABC All Babies Count Prenatal Nutrition Program is a free weekly drop-in program helping pregnant women and new moms to have a healthy pregnancy and to learn how to care for their newborn babies.


The program is designed to meet the needs of pregnant women who may be experiencing hardships that could impact on the health and development of their babies, or who are at risk of having a low birth weight infant.


Information, food supplements and parenting education are provided and prenatal health, nutrition, labour and delivery, infant care and breastfeeding are all discussed in a safe and supportive setting. Participants prepare and enjoy a nutritious meal or snack each week and are provided take-home groceries and grocery gift certificates. Referrals to other community supports can be made to link participants to services in their communities.


To view a short video on the subject go to and see the "What's New" section. Click on "All Babies Count". Please note a Flash Plug-In and high-speed connection are required to access the video.


ABC All Babies Count Prenatal Nutrition Programs are offered at the following locations:


Keswick ~          Maple Hill Baptist Church

Markham ~        Pathways Parent/Child Resource Centre

Newmarket ~  Bethel Christian Reformed Church

Oak Ridges ~     Ontario Early Years Centre Oak Ridges

Woodbridge ~ Ontario Early Years Centre Vaughan-King-Aurora


The ABC All Babies Count Prenatal Nutrition Program is funded in part by Canada Prenatal Nutrition Program, Health Canada in collaboration with Rose of Sharon and

The Regional Municipality of York.


For more information, including times and site locations for these weekly drop-ins, contact York Region Health Services Health Connection at 1-800-361-5653.



Contact:            Wendy Lewis

                        York Region Corporate Communications Services

                        905-830-4444 or (416) 297-9696 ext. 1238


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top