June 4, 2003

Ontario Government pledges $50 million investment forYork Region Rapid Transit Plan

NEWMARKET The Regional Municipality of York and York Consortium welcome the formal announcement today from the Ontario Government of a $50 million initial investment toward the York Region Rapid Transit Plan (YRTP) and its Quick Start program.

The provincial government has committed these funds over the next three years through its Ontario SuperBuild Corporation.

Today's funding announcement, first referenced in the March 27th Ontario budget, matches a $50 million investment made by the Government of Canada on March 26th, in addition to a $50 million contribution York Regional Council approved on October 17, 2002.

"We're very pleased that the Province has invested in our rapid transit plan," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch. "With such an ambitious plan to tackle growth in York Region, it is crucial for senior levels of government to be involved with our plans. Today marks the official beginning of our aggressive rapid transit program."

Chair Fisch also recognized the invaluable support for the YRTP received from provincial MPPs in York Region and across Greater Toronto.

The YRTP is focused on a state-of-the-art rapid transit network across four York Region corridors, with key connections to the City of Toronto and the regions of Peel and Durham. The plan will help focus urban development in York Region and alleviate road congestion throughout Greater Toronto. The YRTP is also critically important to the continued economic growth and vitality of York Region and the GTA, as well as to the protection of ecologically sensitive areas and the environment of the Region.

"This ringing endorsement means rapid transit is on the way to becoming a reality for York Region residents, businesses and visitors," said Frank Wilson, President of AECOM Enterprises one of 10 private companies that form York Consortium, the private sector partner for the YRTP. "This is a comprehensive rapid transit plan to address gridlock and congestion issues in York Region and its neighbours.

YRTP will roll out in three stages, the first being Quick Start. Quick Start involves priority projects that can be launched over the next three years. These include road improvements, new transit stations, the purchase of rapid transit vehicles and the installation of a high tech fare system. This approach will provide short-term, but important tangible benefits in the four Regional corridors.

The full rapid transit network will be implemented in Phase 2 of the program. Phase 3 involves growth-related expansions and upgrades in response to changing development patterns. The rapid transit plan has the potential to eliminate hundreds of thousands of car trips in York Region and Greater Toronto, and will reduce air pollution and smog.

The YRTP will focus on providing rapid transit along four major corridors connecting four regional centres. They are:

Costs for full implementation of the YRTP range from $2.4 billion and $4.1 billion over the next 30 years, depending on the choice of technologies and the extent of system facilities.

The YRTP is a collaborative effort between York Region and its local municipalities. It is the heart of the Transportation Master Plan (TMP) a 30-year action plan York Regional Council approved last year to address transportation needs in the Region and, to a large degree, across Greater Toronto. The TMP is a key part of Vision 2026, the Region's 25-year strategic plan, which focuses on creating strong, caring and safe communities.

For additional information on the York Region Rapid Transit Plan, including a series of Fact Sheets on rapid transit, please visit the YRTP Web site at www.yorkinmotion.com

For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at: www.region.york.on.ca


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top