January 3, 2003

Small Vehicle Transfer Station and Household Hazardous Waste Depot to remain open in City of Vaughan

NEWMARKET The Regional Municipality of York has successfully negotiated with the City of Toronto to provide and operate the existing Small Vehicle Transfer Station and Household Hazardous Waste Depot at the Keele Valley Landfill Site until December 31, 2003. All waste material will be transferred off site for final disposal or recycling as the Keele Valley Landfill closed on December 31, 2002.

Customers can only drop off less than one tonne of waste material per load. All material must be able to be hand thrown into bins. Payment will be based on the weight of the load and charged at $70 per tonne for residents and $85 per tonne for businesses, with a minimum charge of $7 per load. Payment is by cash only.

The proposed hours of operation for the Small Vehicle Transfer Station for 2003 are:

There is no charge for material dropped off at the Household Hazardous Waste Depot. The hours of operation for the Household Hazardous Waste Deport for 2003 are:

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at: www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top