December 4, 2003

Bill Fisch acclaimed to third term as Regional Chair

Chair's Speech 
CAO's Speech

NEWMARKET—Bill Fisch has been acclaimed the Regional Chair for the 2003-2006 term of Regional Council, his third consecutive term.
The nine Mayors and 11 Regional Councillors representing the nine area municipalities unanimously re-elected Mr. Fisch in an uncontested vote for Regional Chair at the Inaugural Meeting of Regional Council tonight.
"I am both honoured and humbled by the trust and confidence members of Regional Council have shown me in my return as Regional Chairman," said Chair Fisch.
In his inaugural address, Chair Fisch said together with Council, he is prepared to tackle several substantive issues – many of which were heard during the recent municipal election.  These include transportation, waste disposal and diversion, affordable housing, protection of the environment and the health and safety of residents.
"The over-riding umbrella bridging these five cornerstones – and many others – will continue to be the Region's growth and infrastructure plans," said Chair Fisch. "We have grown fast over the past three years, and we will continue to grow in the future.  In a way, we are a victim of our own success.  We cannot, however, simply stop growth.  But we must manage it in a way that is beneficial for the residents and businesses of this Region.
"We will make certain our infrastructure coincides with future growth plans.  In addition, we must be aggressive in our attempts to attract additional industrial and commercial industry to ensure a strong tax base."   
In closing, Chair Fisch stressed the importance of team work.  "We will work with our area municipalities.  We will work in partnership with our federal and provincial government colleagues.  We will listen to our residents and businesses."
The first regular business meeting of Regional Council for the 2003 - 2006 term will take place at 9:30 a.m. on December 11, 2003 at the York Region Administrative Centre in Newmarket. 
A complete copy of the Chair's Inaugural Address is posted on the Region's Web site at    -30-
Contact:   Patrick Casey, Acting Director, York Region Corporate Communications
(905) 830-4444, ext. 1235 or cell (905) 715-8211

Attachment: List of 2003 - 2006 York Regional Council members
December 4, 2003 For Immediate Release
York Regional Council for the term 2003-2006
• Bill Fisch, Regional Chair and CEO
• Mayor Tim Jones, Town of Aurora
• Mayor James Young, Town of East Gwillimbury
• Mayor Robert Grossi, Town of Georgina
• Regional Councillor Danny Wheeler, Town of Georgina
• Mayor Margaret Black, Township of King
• Mayor Donald Cousens, Town of Markham
• Regional Councillor Frank Scarpitti, Town of Markham
• Regional Councillor Jack Heath, Town of Markham
• Regional Councillor Jim Jones, Town of Markham
• Regional Councillor Bill O'Donnell, Town of Markham
• Mayor Tom Taylor, Town of Newmarket
• Regional Councillor Tony Van Bynen, Town of Newmarket
• Mayor Bill Bell, Town of Richmond Hill
• Regional Councillor David Barrow, Town of Richmond Hill
• Regional Councillor Brenda Hogg, Town of Richmond Hill
• Mayor Michael Di Biase, City of Vaughan
• Regional Councillor Mario Ferri, City of Vaughan
• Regional Councillor Linda Jackson, City of Vaughan
• Regional Councillor Joyce Frustaglio, City of Vaughan
• Mayor Sue Sherban, Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top