December 22, 2003

York Region Transit offers free New Year's Eve service

NEWMARKET As part of its commitment to safety, York Region Transit (YRT) is offering free rides for everyone on New Year's Eve.


The free New Year's Eve service extends to all YRT services and Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) routes operating north of Steeles Avenue, after 7:00 p.m. on December 31st.


YRT is also offering extended New Year's Eve service hours on some YRT and TTC routes north of Steeles Avenue.  The last YRT buses from Finch Subway Station will be at approximately 2:00 a.m.


The free ride ends at 3:00 a.m. and also applies to YRT Mobility Plus Services for persons with special needs.  Routes operating hourly service until approximately 3:00 am are listed below.


Route 1 Highway 7

Route 2 Milliken

Route 5 Clark

Route 55 Davis Drive (stop a 404 Plaza)

Route 77 Highway 7/Centre

Route 91 Bayview

Route 99 Yonge 'C'

TTC 107C Keele North

TTC 129A McCowan North

TTC 165D Weston Road North

TTC 268 Warden North



For more information on YRT routes and fares, visit the York Region Transit Web site at or call toll-free at 1-866-MOVE-YRT (668-3978).  For TTC routes, please visit the TTC website at or call 416-393-INFO (4636).


For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top