September 19, 2002

York Regional Council awards contract for new anti-icing program


NEWMARKET York Regional Council today awarded a contract to Miller Paving Limited to implement a new anti-icing program for the 2002/2003 winter season.

The contract follows a successful test conducted last winter, where a salt-brine solution was applied to two arterial roads in the Newmarket area in an effort to reduce the use of road salt. Council endorsed the implementation of the salt-brine anti-icing measures at its June 27, 2002 session.

"The Federal Government recently concluded that road salt is toxic to the environment," said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair and CEO. "Since that finding, we've worked diligently to incorporate a more environmentally and economically sound alternative."

There are several advantages to the salt-brine solution, including less overall salt use and more effective placement on roadways. Miller will apply the solution before storms to prevent the bonding of ice and snow to the road surface. The solution can also be applied to prevent the formation of black ice.

The anti-icing measures will be co-ordinated with weather information provided by the Road Weather Information System (RWIS).

"I'm extremely pleased that the Region has moved quickly in adopting a more environmentally-friendly alternative to road salt," said Newmarket Regional Councillor Diane Humeniuk, the first to recommend alternatives to the Transportation and Works Committee. "The awarding of this contract marks a turning point in the way we protect our drivers and our environment."

While the use of road salt will still be a necessary part of winter road maintenance, it is hoped that the new anti-icing measures will reduce the need for conventional salting.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:


Contact: Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1232

- email:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top