October 18, 2002

York Region seeking feedback on draft terms of reference for Accessibility Advisory Committee

NEWMARKET The Regional Municipality of York's Interim Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC) has approved draft terms of reference for the permanent Accessibility Advisory Committee that will assist York Region in implementing the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 (ODA).

"York Region supports the Ontarians with Disabilities Act and is very committed to removing barriers to accessibility over time," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch. "The Act is in keeping with our 25-year strategic plan, Vision 2026, which promotes access to Regional programs and services for York Region's citizens."

The purpose of the ODA is to improve opportunities for persons with disabilities by identifying, removing and preventing physical and other barriers. Every year York Region must create an Accessibility Plan to show how it will do this. The permanent York Region AAC will advise Council on the preparation, implementation and effectiveness of the Plan.

In order to get input from York Region residents about the draft terms of reference, the Interim AAC will hold focus group meetings in mid-November with invited participants from major organizations representing people with disabilities and other key stakeholders. As well, the draft terms are posted on the Region's Web site at www.region.york.on.ca for public review and feedback. Printed copies can be picked up from York Region's offices in Newmarket at 17250 Yonge Street, and in Richmond Hill at 50 High Tech Road as of October 21, 2002.

"The permanent AAC will have a crucial role," said Newmarket Regional Councillor Diane Humeniuk, Chair of the Interim AAC. "I welcome a consultative process that involves members of the public, as well as agencies, organizations, and area municipalities to receive their input on the structure and functions of this important Committee."

In addition to developing and consulting on the terms of reference, the Interim AAC will also recruit citizen members to serve on the permanent York Region AAC. The Interim AAC will report back to Regional Council on December 19, 2002 on its recommendations on the terms of reference, as well as its recruitment strategy for the permanent York Region AAC.

The Interim ACC, appointed by Regional Council last month, is comprised of Newmarket Regional Councillor Diane Humeniuk (Chair), Georgina Regional Councillor Danny Wheeler (Vice Chair) and Vaughan Regional Councillor Joyce Frustaglio. Regional Chair Bill Fisch is ex-officio member.


Contact: Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region


October 18, 2002

Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top