November 22, 2002

York Regional Council approves 2003 fare increase for York Region Transit


NEWMARKET York Regional Council yesterday approved an increase to York Region Transit (YRT) fares, effective January 1, 2003. Increased revenues from the new transit fares will help finance continuous service improvement plans.

"Increasing fares will provide York Region Transit with the flexibility it needs to continue its service expansion across York Region," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch. "It is important that fares be kept in line with planned budgets to ensure that we continue to provide excellent quality of services for our riders."

The new fares are in keeping with other transit services throughout Greater Toronto. The changes, which primarily affect adult and student fares, will provide an anticipated $1.1 million in additional revenue.

"These new fares represent an investment in York Region Transit," said Newmarket Regional Councillor Diane Humeniuk, Chair of the York Region Transit Committee. "Re-evaluating our revenue structure is essential to ensuring our long-term goals are met and implementing a small fare increase in several, although not all, fare categories is necessary for ongoing service improvements."

In 2002 alone, York Region Council has approved $5.2 million in new YRT service improvements across the region, including the addition of new routes in King Township, East Gwillimbury and Georgina. YRT also introduced cross-boundary service for riders with disabilities who use the YRT Mobility Plus service.

For a full breakdown of the new YRT fare structure, please see the attached Fact Sheet.

For more information about YRT routes and fares, visit the York Region Transit Web site at or call toll-free at 1-866-MOVE-YRT (668-3978) to speak with a YRT customer representative.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:

Click here to go to the Fact Sheet


Contact: Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications, York Region


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top