November 21, 2002

York Region donates ambulance to Ecuador


NEWMARKET - York Regional Council today was pleased to approve the donation of a decommissioned ambulance, with supplies and equipment, to Ecuador, in South America.

The donation was made in response to a request made by the Friends of Ecuador Committee, a volunteer humanitarian group working under the auspices of the Consulate General in Toronto.

"This is the first time that York Region has been approached with this type of request," commented Bill Fisch, Regional Chair and CEO. "The ambulance had just been decommissioned, so the timing was perfect. The Region is delighted to be in the position to assist our global neighbours in Ecuador with this much-needed donation."

"Commitment to humanitarian need is intrinsic to what York Region Emergency Medical Services does each and every day," added Brad Meekin, General Manager of York Region EMS. "This donation is a logical extension of our work here in our own community."

The Friends of Ecuador has facilitated other significant medical donations, including surplus hospital equipment from Sunnybrook and Women's College Health Sciences Centre, 65 hospital beds from North York General Hospital, and 200 used hospital beds from The Providence Centre in Toronto, for use in public hospitals in the coastal region of Ecuador.

The donated ambulance was decommissioned from service in July 2002. York Region Emergency Medical Services Branch replaces ambulances according to a fifty-four month life cycle and/or when mileage exceeds 245,000 kilometres. Historically, three to five decommissioned ambulances are offered for auction annually, along with other regional vehicles. The donated vehicle, a 1997 Ford Van Style E 350 Diesel Ambulance, was decommissioned from service with 245,000 kilometres.

For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:


Contact: Kim Clark, York Region Health Services

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top