May 16, 2002

York Region to partner in Newmarket natural heritage strategy study

NEWMARKET York Regional Council today approved a financial contribution of up to $10,000 toward the Town of Newmarket's natural heritage strategy study. The study will be conducted in a partnership between the Town, York Region, the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

"The study will further York Region's natural heritage protection goals, and supports our Vision 2026 action area of securing a green York Region," said Regional Chair Bill Fisch.

The goal of the study, which will take place this year, is to create a strategic framework to protect and improve Newmarket's natural resources.

"We're pleased about this partnership as it will further our common objectives of protecting, restoring and enhancing Newmarket's natural heritage," said Mayor Tom Taylor.

The Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority will complete the majority of the work and York Region's Geomatics Division will take on a lead role in providing geographic information services for the project. Newmarket and the Ministry of Natural Resources will provide assistance and other expertise as required.

The Regional Official Plan requires area municipalities to develop comprehensive policies that protect and complement the Regional Greenlands System and identify locally significant greenlands. To assist the municipalities in complying with the Plan, the Region provides joint- venture funding to offset some of the study costs. To date, the Region has partnered with the Towns of Georgina, East Gwillimbury, Whitchurch-Stouffville and the Township of King. The Region has also contributed to the Town of Richmond Hill's corridor study and participated in Markham's natural features study.

For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:

Contact: Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1238

- Email:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top