May 16, 2002

York Region announces $4.2 million service improvements to York Region Transit

NEWMARKET York Region announced $4.2 million in service improvements for York Region Transit (YRT) today, including service upgrades to 28 bus routes across York Region.

The improvements are part of the York Region Transit Five-Year Service Plan, approved by York Regional Council today. The enhancements will also allow for a Region-wide consistency of core bus routes in preparation of further service expansion later this year.

"Implementing the York Region Transit Five-Year Service Plan demonstrates our commitment to creating a comprehensive system of transit for people across our Region," said Chair Bill Fisch. "These upgrades mark a significant step toward achieving that goal."

The York Region Transit Five-Year Service Plan provides a detailed year-by-year schedule for YRT route expansion and bus fleet expansion that will complement the Region's growing transit needs. The plan also sets ridership targets and introduces a three-zone fare system.

"As York Region's population grows, so do the demands placed on the Region's transit," said Newmarket Regional Councillor Diane Humeniuk. "Today's improvements will increase transit services across the board, provide enhanced service opportunities to commuters as well as better transit linkages to the many communities that make up York Region."

For information on the Five-Year Transit Service Plan, or a complete list of YRT service improvements, please visit, or call 905-762-2100 or Toll free 1-866-MOVE YRT (668-3978).

For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:

Contact: Nathalie Thivierge, Manager, Marketing and Customer Service

York Region Transit

(905) 762-1282 or 1-866-758-0749, ext. 5614


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top