March 28, 2002

York Region seeks funding to launch Small Business Enterprise Centre

NEWMARKET York Regional Council today adopted a resolution expressing support for the Government of Ontario's Small Business Enterprise Centre Program. The resolution makes way for the Region to apply to the provincial government for funding assistance to establish a Small Business Enterprise Centre at the York Region Administrative Centre in Newmarket.

"Starting a Small Business Enterprise Centre at the York Region headquarters would serve as a visible demonstration of our economic development efforts to support the small business community," says Regional Chair Bill Fisch. "This is in keeping with our Vibrant Economy goals of Vision 2026, the Region's strategic plan for the next 25 years."

The Small Business Enterprise Centre Program is part of Ontario's business support network. It provides assistance and support to business start-ups and small to medium-sized enterprises with under ten employees during the first five years of operation. Small Business Enterprise Centres provide these businesses with access to mentoring, information, and services in the areas of management, marketing, technology and financing.

Support for small and medium-sized enterprises is vital to the success of the Region's economy since small businesses create more than half of all new jobs in Ontario, and more than 90% of the companies in York Region have 50 or less employees.

The establishment of the York Region Small Business Enterprise Centre will be based on a cost-share arrangement between the Province and the Region. Staff are preparing a detailed business plan and budget to be submitted to the Province in April, and expect to get a response later this spring or early summer.

For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top