March 28, 2002

Red E. Fox has arrived!

NEWMARKET York Regional Council today welcomed Red E. (Emergency) Fox to the Region as the mascot/ambassador for the 9-1-1 for Kids program, an educational initiative targeting primary grade school children.

The initiative reflects the fact that on April 2nd, the responsibility for 9-1-1 call answering will be transferred to York Region from Bell Canada.

Emergency call takers from York Regional Police Services will be the first point of reception for all 9-1-1 calls originating in York Region. After determining whether the emergency requires police, fire or ambulance response, they will re-direct any non-police calls to either the Emergency Medical Services (ambulance paramedics) or local municipal fire departments.

York Region becomes the first Canadian municipality to formally adopt 9-1-1 for Kids , a program that has been successfully used in schools across the United States since 1994. The Region will provide a copy of the 9-1-1 for Kids classroom kit to all public and Catholic elementary schools in the Region.

"Although there are 10,000 calls made to 9-1-1 centres across Ontario each day, many of these calls are not for true emergencies," said York Regional Chair Bill Fisch. "Red E. Fox will help teach our school children when people should use the emergency call service."

"The 9-1-1 for Kids program reflects our commitment to deliver an important service in an innovative way," explained Chief Administrative Officer Alan Wells. "By teaching our kids we can also reach the parents and cut down the costs associated with misuse of 9-1-1."

For a Fact Sheet on 9-1-1 for Kids , a Backgrounder on York Region's 9-1-1 Call Answering, or more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at

Fact Sheet

9-1-1 for Kids Program

    1. How to dial 9-1-1
    2. When to call (discern between emergency and non-emergency)
    3. What to say to the 9-1-1 Call-taker


York Region Assumes Responsibility for
9-1-1 Call Answering


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top