March 18, 2002

York Region receives $250,000 for intelligent transportation systems


NEWMARKET Transit systems will be more efficient throughout York Region following an announcement by Transport Minister David Collenette last week that the Government of Canada has committed $250,000 to the Region for the design and deployment of a Transit Priority System.

"This money will greatly assist in improving York Region's transit system," said Regional Chair and Chair, Rapid Transit Committee, Bill Fisch. "I am very encouraged by the federal government's recognition of the importance of transit in our community."

This money is part of a larger commitment of $3.7 million to 17 cost-shared projects under Transport Canada's Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Deployment and Integration Plan. ITS funding comes as part of the Government of Canada's Strategic Highway Infrastructure Program (SHIP), which was announced on April 3, 2001.

"Dedicated lanes and priority initiatives are essential to developing an effective and efficient transit system," said Newmarket Regional Councillor Diane Humeniuk, Chair of York Region Transit Committee and Vice Chair, Rapid Transit Committee. "These funds will help us reach our transit goals."

The announcement follows a joint submission to the Federal Government made by York Region and LEA Consulting. The Region has also made a submission to the Provincial Government under the Golden Horseshoe Transit Investment Partnerships (GTIP) initiative, to fund the expansion and improvement of its transit systems. An announcement on GTIP funding is expected in late 2002.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at

Contact: Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top