June 27, 2002

York Region launches hike guide


NEWMARKET A new guide outlining hiking and recreational opportunities available across York region was launched at Regional Council today. Take a Hike - Recreation Trails of York Region identifies 32 recreational trails and 18 York Regional Forest tracts, covering major routes throughout York Region.

"This comprehensive guide is a key component of the York Region Greening Strategy's community education and promotional campaign," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch. "It also promotes tourism and an active lifestyle for our residents and visitors."

Complete with maps and key information about each recreational trail, Take a Hike was produced by York Region in collaboration with its nine area municipalities and the following community partners:

"Some of the trails are local, providing walking opportunities to the immediate community, while others like the Nokiidaa Trail cut across and connect communities," said Harold Sellers of Hike Ontario at today's launch.

Thirty thousand copies of Take A Hike have been produced and are available free of charge from the York Region Administrative Centre in Newmarket, local municipal offices or by calling York Region Tourism toll-free at 1-888-448-0000. The guide is also available online by visiting www.yorktourism.com.

A series of active workshops on walking and hiking in York Region entitled "Walk This Way!" will be held this fall. For more information, contact Cathy Saunders at (905) 940-1787, ext. 4259.

For information on the York Region Greening Strategy, York Region services and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at: www.region.york.on.ca.

Note: Electronic files of the guide cover and some of the trails are available upon request.

Contact: Brenda McGowan, York Region Tourism

-(905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1553

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top