June 27, 2002

York Region endorses vision for Highway 7 as major rapid transit corridor


NEWMARKET York Regional Council today endorsed a long-term vision for Highway 7 as a major corridor in which land use, urban design and streetscape, transportation, transit, public facilities and other investments are strategically co-ordinated.

"A clearly-defined vision for the Highway 7 will help foster a strong sense of community, identity and place, and provide better transportation connections for residents and commuters," said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair and CEO.

Graphic images were presented showing what Highway 7 could look like in the future with integrated transit, land uses and high quality urban design.

The Highway 7 corridor includes three regional centres: the Vaughan corporate centre at Highways 400 and 7; the Richmond Hill centre at Yonge Street and Highway 7; and the Markham centre at Warden Avenue and Highway 7. These centres are intended to be focal points for business, government, entertainment and culture within York region. They also have the potential to be linked via rapid transit to other nodes in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA), including a planned major population and employment centre on Queen St. (Highway 7) in Brampton at Highway 410 and the planned Seaton community in Durham region.

Today, York Region also signed an agreement with York Consortium 2002 as its private sector partner to develop the York Rapid Transit Plan (YRTP), a rapid transit system for the region. Highway 7 is one of four corridors of the YRTP.

The vision for Highway 7 will be circulated to the Towns of Markham and Richmond Hill and the City of Vaughan for review and comment, as well as other key stakeholders and the public.

York Region assumed responsibility for its stretch of Highway 7 in July 1997 from the Province.

For more information about the Region, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at: www.region.york.on.ca.

Note: Graphic images of the vision for Highway 7 are available upon request.


The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top