July 17, 2002

York Region to welcome thousands of delegates during World Youth Day


NEWMARKET York Region is expected to host approximately 7,000 delegates from all over the world during the World Youth Day (WYD) conference in Toronto from July 22nd to 28th inclusive.

"We welcome the world youth and are pleased that many York region residents have opened their homes to host the thousands of delegates arriving this and next week," says York Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch.

In addition to hosting delegates, many Catholic churches in the region will hold catecheses, which are times of prayer, discussion and reflection based on the teachings of the church.

Host families are being encouraged to drive their pilgrim guests to and from catecheses sites and subway stations for events in Toronto. However to accommodate those who must take public transit, York Region Transit (YRT) will be supplementing service on major routes during World Youth Day.

In addition, registered World Youth Day pilgrims displaying their valid WYD transit pass will have free access on all YRT, TTC, GO Transit Yonge C and Bayview bus service during dates specified on the passes between July 22nd to 29th inclusive. For more details about YRT routes and stop locations, visit the York Region Transit Web site at www.yorkregiontransit.com or call toll-free at 1-866-MOVE YRT (668-3978) to speak to a YRT customer representative.

The public can visit the York Region Web site for key links and phone numbers for World Youth Day information. More information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities are also available at: www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1238

- E-mail: wendy.lewis@region.york.on.ca

Paul Kilbertus, World Youth Day National Office, Communications

- (416) 913-2088

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top