January 25, 2002

Region of York applies for GTIP money


NEWMARKET The Regional Municipality of York has submitted two applications to the Province of Ontario for transit funding under the Golden Horseshoe Transit Investment Partnership (GTIP) program.

Regional Council, yesterday, approved submission of two expressions of interest, the first for rapid transit and the second for short-term, inter-regional transit improvements and technology and service innovation.

"We have a very strong case for funding on both applications," said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair. "Our transit plans are inter-regional, will involve a private sector partner for the first time in transit in Canada, and will address all the priorities of the GTIP especially the need to provide congestion relief and to be sustainable."

The first submission reflects the rapid transit component of the Transportation Master Plan, with four inter-regional rapid transit corridors:

The second submission includes conventional and specialized buses operating in inter-regional corridors, off-site transit improvements at GO Rail stations, Highway 7 transit infrastructure improvements and queue-jump lanes. Specialized transit scheduling software, an automatic vehicle location system, a transit priority and traffic control system and a smart card system are also some of the technology and service innovations proposed.

The $1.25 billion GTIP program is part of the $3.25 billion transit investment plan recently announced by the provincial government. The GTIP program will have several rounds of funding and each round will follow a two-phase competitive selection process.

Deadline for submission of expressions of interest is January 28. Following evaluation of the EOIs, projects will be selected in spring 2002 for Phase II, during which applicants will be asked to develop detailed proposals. Phase II submissions will be due in summer 2002.

For more information on the transit program and the Transportation Master Plan of York Region, please visit the Region of York Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top