January 09, 2002
Fact Sheet

Transportation Master Plan for York Region

The following elements of the York Region Transportation Master Plan are designated as immediate priorities and focus on achieving rapid transit service in four main corridors:

These initiatives will significantly improve transit service in the busiest corridors and support the further development of the four regional centres identified in the York Region Official Plan. Bus rapid transit or light rail transit must be implemented quickly to achieve the objectives of the master plan.

Regardless of the preferred technology, road widening and reconfiguration will be necessary to accommodate reserved lanes for transit, transit priority at traffic signals and intersection improvements.

Although the emphasis will be on transit, York Region must also widen a number of roads and complete missing links in the road network.

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top