January 09, 2002
Fact Sheet

On The Move Toward Sustainable Transportation
Transportation Master Plan for York Region

  1. Improve rapid transit services in urban York Region
  2. Expand GO Transit commuter rail service
  3. Open additional GO Transit rail stations
  4. Provide key gateways to the transit network
  5. Establish a grid of supporting bus services
  6. Provide traffic signal priority for transit, plus reserved bus lanes and high-occupancy vehicle lanes
  7. Create a system of commuter parking lots
  8. Provide rural bus routes that connect outlying communities with urban centres and rapid transit services
  9. Provide local transit service in outlying communities
  10. Provide separate services for those unable to use conventional transit
  1. Extensions to the provincial freeway network, including extensions to Highway 427 and Highway 404 and the Bradford bypass
  2. A four-lane Bloomington Road-King City bypass corridor, extending from the Peel Region boundary to the Durham Region boundary
  3. A Markham bypass from Highway 48 to Steeles Avenue and extending into Toronto
  4. A north Markham east-west link
  5. Complete missing links, including Pine Valley Drive between Langstaff Road and Rutherford Road and Teston Road between Keele Street and Dufferin Street and Stouffville Road extension west of Yonge Street to connect with King-Vaughan Road at Bathurst Street
  6. Elimination of jogs at several intersections
  7. Improved connections to Peel and Durham regions
  8. New Highway 400 and Highway 404 interchanges

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top