February 21, 2002

York Region issues Request for Proposal for a Rapid Transit Public-Private Partnership


NEWMARKET York Regional Council today authorized staff to issue a Request for Proposal (RFP) for the Rapid Transit Public-Private Partnership (PPP) to five pre-qualified consortia. All five groups have extensive experience in planning, financing, designing and building major projects, including rapid transit systems.

"The release of the RFP represents another important milestone in York Region's efforts to establish a public-private partnership to help implement rapid transit," said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair. "All five consortia have excellent knowledge of the operation of rapid transit. We are in great position to select the most suitable partner."

The RFP has been prepared to allow and encourage the proponents to submit high quality proposals. All five consortia were consulted prior to finalizing the RFP to ensure that it addresses their needs and concerns.

The RFP is based on three distinct stages: Project Finalization, Design and Construction, Operations and Maintenance. Partnership reviews will take place between each stage. The deadline for RFP submissions is March 28, 2002, with a partner selected by May 16, 2002 when negotiations will begin on an agreement.

The rapid transit initiative is a collaborative effort between the Region of York and the municipalities of Markham, Vaughan and Richmond Hill, focusing on links with transit systems in the City of Toronto and the Regions of Peel and Durham. The PPP the first of its kind in Canada would fast track the successful delivery of inter-regional rapid transit and will incorporate the most advanced transit technologies now in use.

A strategy to develop a York Region Rapid Transit System is the heart of the Transportation Master Plan for York Region, a 30-year action plan that will address transportation needs in York Region and across Greater Toronto.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top