February 21, 2002

York Region announces designates to Youth Advisory Committee


NEWMARKET York Regional Chair Bill Fisch is pleased to announce designates and appointees to York Regional Council's first Youth Advisory Committee. Last December, Council unanimously approved the formation of a Youth Advisory Committee whose purpose will be to represent 'the voice' of youth and provide advice to the Regional Chair.

"I look forward to working with these young people," said Regional Chair Bill Fisch. "I know they will provide valuable input and perspectives to Regional matters."

The Youth Advisory Committee will discuss research, program proposals and servicing changes that are both ongoing and the subject of Regional Council in the months to come. The Committee will deal with select Regional matters such as growth management issues, in advance of their consideration by Regional Council.

Each of the nine area municipalities have designated the following members to the Youth Advisory Committee:

Town of Aurora -Dustin Mylod -Amy Tipton

Town of East Gwillimbury -Chris Harvey

-Gurleen Rai

Town of Georgina -Amanda Fullerton

-Neill McDonald

Township of King -Alexander Skelton

-Taylor Jones

Town of Markham -Melissa Stamkos

-Diana Tseng

Town of Newmarket -Matthew Cloutier

Town of Richmond Hill -Chris Gurski

-Anika Khanna

Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville -Samantha Carroll

-Andrew Fockler

City of Vaughan -Tavlin Kaur

-Adam Settecase

Regional Councillor and Markham Deputy Mayor Frank Scarpitti and East Gwillimbury Mayor James Young have been appointed to act as advisors to the Committee. The Regional Chair is an ex-officio advisor.

Members of the Youth Advisory Committee will serve a term of 11 months, running from September to the following August. This Youth Advisory Committee will hold its inaugural meeting in April and its term will run until September 2003.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top