February 21, 2002

2002 edition of York Region community services directory now available


NEWMARKET The Regional Municipality of York's 2002 edition of its community services directory is now available. YorkLink - A Community Services Directory provides comprehensive information on over 600 community service providers and related government agencies in York Region. This includes local family support groups, senior citizens' programs, child care centres, government offices and youth programs.

"YorkLink reflects our commitment as a Region to providing information on public services in the best way possible for residents," said Regional Chair Bill Fisch.

Launched in 2000, the printed version of YorkLink is distributed to community service providers, libraries, community information centres, government offices and residents throughout the Region.

The Directory is also accessible online through the York Region Web site at www.region.york.on.ca, or at www.yorklink.org. The on-line version is updated regularly, providing the most up-to-date community services information. It can be searched by key word as well as agency name, subject and area served. Printable maps are now available, as well as translation services in nine languages: French, Cantonese/Mandarin, Hindi, Spanish, Korean, Russian, Italian, Farsi and Urdu.

YorkLink is available free of charge by contacting York Region at 1-877-464-9675, extension 2128 or yorklink@region.york.on.ca

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

Note to Print Media: A jpeg file of the YorkLink cover is available upon request.

Contact: Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

Local - (905) 830-4444, ext. 1238

Toll-free 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1238

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top