February 14, 2002

The Region of York and Peel Region sign innovative water supply agreement

NEWMARKET York Regional Chair Bill Fisch today joined Emil Kolb, Chair of the Region of Peel, and signed an agreement that will see the Region of Peel provide water services to York Region from 2004 until 2031.

"The York-Peel Water Supply Agreement serves as an excellent example of how Regions in the GTA can work co-operatively to solve mutual concerns," says Bill Fisch, York Regional Chair. "These partnerships are absolutely necessary in today's complex world."

"This agreement will help our friends and neighbours in York Region as well as helping to expand the water supply available for use in Peel," says Emil Kolb, Chair, Region of Peel.

Under the terms of the agreement, the Region of Peel will provide an escalating quantity of water that will increase as the capacity of the Region of Peel's water supply and distribution system expands.

York Region had considered three Lake Ontario-based options to supply the additional 380 million litres per day required to meet future demands, including increased supplies from the City of Toronto, and construction of new facilities to supply water through Durham West via the City of Pickering.

York will receive water from Peel to meet its needs at a substantially lower cost than through other options under consideration. Execution of the York-Peel agreement results in a capital cost savings over the next three decades between $87 million and $117 million compared to the Durham West alternative.

"Through this agreement we both win," said Kees Schipper, Transportation and Works Commissioner for York Region. "York will have a secure water supply and Peel will benefit financially, while ensuring the drinking water needs for residents of both Regions are met now and into the future."

The financial benefits for Peel from the water servicing agreement will be an estimated $152.4 million over the life of the agreement.






Page Two

Highlights Of Peel and York Water Servicing Agreement

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top