February 11, 2002

GO Transit to add new train and highway bus service in York Region


NEWMARKET York Region commuters now have more choice in their daily travel patterns after GO Transit announced plans to add a third train to the Stouffville Corridor and a new Highway 404 Bus Corridor from Newmarket.

"GO Transit continues to be a popular choice for commuters in York Region, and I know these new public transit services will be used well," said York Regional Chair Bill Fisch, who is also a GO Transit board member. "No one likes gridlock. GO Transit and the Region of York are working together to provide new options and creative solutions for travelling across York and to our neighbouring Regions and the City of Toronto."

A third train will be added to the Stouffville Corridor during the morning and afternoon peak periods. These trips will be operated from an order of new railcars and will use a refurbished locomotive.

The new trips will help reduce crowding on existing trains, offer more choices to customers and increase ridership. Over the next two years, additional stations and parking lots are proposed along the corridor. The new trains will also have bus connections to Uxbridge. In total, GO will offer 34 daily trips on the corridor.

A new bus service will be introduced from Newmarket to the TTC subway via Highway 404. It will serve the Newmarket Bus Terminal, Aurora GO Station, Aurora Road/Highway 404 carpool lot, the Beaver Creek area at Highway 404 and Highway 7, Seneca College and the Finch Subway Station. When the Sheppard Subway opens in September 2002, the service will shift to the Leslie Subway Station.

All rail and bus service improvements are effective April 29, 2002.

On a typical weekday, GO's trains and buses carry more than 160,000 people the equivalent of 133,000 car trips. In 2001, GO Transit carried 44 million passengers, and in the last five years, GO has grown by 36 per cent, or 11.4 million trips.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top