February 08, 2002

Drivers have more options in northern York Region after improvements to Green Lane East and Highway 404

NEWMARKET v York Region drivers can now access Green Lane East between Leslie Street and Woodbine Avenue in the Town of East Gwillimbury. The Regional Municipality of York today opened the stretch of road in tandem with the completion of a 2.9 kilometre extension of Highway 404 from Davis Drive and Green Lane East.

In partnership with the Ministry of Transportation, the Region expanded Green Lane East from a two-lane gravel road to a four-lane roadway. The Region also installed new signals at the intersection of Green Lane and Woodbine Avenue to deal with the growing traffic from communities in the northern half of the Region.

"York Region partnered with the Ontario government to make this important project a reality," said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair. "The highway extension, coupled with the extensive improvements to Green Lane, will ease congestion in Newmarket along Davis Drive, Leslie Street and Woodbine Avenue and allow commuters to take advantage of another viable option."

The project is part of an innovative Provincial-Regional partnership for the $50 million construction of the Newmarket Bypass.

In addition to this work on Green Lane East, York Region also assumed ownership of Highway 9 between Yonge Street and Highway 400. York also agreed to widen Highway 9 from Bathurst Street to Highway 400 to four lanes, and that work is nearing completion.

"Today's announcement marks another milestone toward completion of the Newmarket Bypass," said Kees Schipper, Commissioner of Transportation and Works, York Region. "Widening of Green Lane East between Yonge Street and Highway 404 is now complete. Tenders will be issued this year for construction of the last four kilometres to complete the bypass from Highway 9 and Bathurst Street to Green Lane and Yonge Street."

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top