February 07, 2002

York Region's Rapid Transit Public-Private Partnership gains momentum

NEWMARKET v The Regional Municipality of York today recommended all five consortia interested in a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) for a York rapid transit plan be approved. A Request for Proposal (RFP) will be issued to all qualified proponents, once approved by Council.

"Attracting many high profile companies to our partnership proposal demonstrates the desire to work with the Region to create an innovative rapid transit system that will benefit riders across Greater Toronto", said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair.

A PPP would fast track the successful delivery of inter-regional rapid transit and incorporates the most advanced transit technologies currently in use.

The joint venture is a collaborative effort between the Region of York and the municipalities of Markham, Richmond Hill and Vaughan. York's rapid transit strategy is focused on linking with transit systems in the City of Toronto and the Regions of Durham and Peel.

"The RFQ process went extremely well and we are very encouraged by the calibre of the five applicants," said Kees Schipper, Commissioner of Transportation and Works. "We can now move forward and determine which partnership will be the most effective in delivering rapid transit to the Region."

Following the March 29th deadline for the RFP submissions, the Region will conduct a comprehensive evaluation to determine which private partner can most effectively fast track the successful delivery of a rapid transit system. The successful partner will be announced by late Spring 2002.

The York rapid transit strategy is the heart of the Transportation Master Plan for York Region, a 30-year action plant that will address transportation needs in York Region and across the Greater Toronto Area.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top