December 19, 2002

The Regional Municipality of York wins prestigious Sustainable Transportation Award


NEWMARKET The Regional Municipality of York has been named co-winner of the prestigious Transportation Association of Canada's (TAC) 2001 Sustainable Urban Transportation Award.

The award recognizes the Region's commitment to sustainable transportation efforts through the development of its Transportation Master Plan (TMP), a 30-year strategy approved by York Regional Council in June.

"Through infrastructure planning, transit expansion and the development of rapid transit we continue to work hard to create a model where people, goods and services can move freely throughout our Region," said Regional Chair and CEO Bill Fisch. "This type of recognition adds real clout to our efforts at creating a sustainable system of transportation."

The Sustainable Transportation Award was created in memory of the late John Hartman, a long time champion of sustainable urban transportation policies and practices. Hartman was instrumental in promoting TAC's New Vision for Urban Transportation in Canada document, which promoted the importance of sustainable urban transportation projects.

"The Transportation Master Plan was designed to ensure both a high standard of living and a strong business base for York Region residents," said Richmond Hill Mayor William F. Bell, Chair of the York Region Transportation and Works Committee. "This award demonstrates that York Region and its transportation policies are moving in the right direction."

The Sustainable Urban Transportation Award is issued annually to a TAC member who makes an exemplary contribution to sustainable urban transportation. Whistler, British Columbia was the co-winner of the 2001 award during a ceremony earlier this year in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

For more information on The Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at:


Contact: Michael Kemp, Corporate Communications, York Region

- (905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, ext. 1232

- Email:

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top