April 23, 2002

Interviews complete on road to rapid transit partnership for York Region

NEWMARKET First interviews with five consortia interested in working with York Region to develop a Rapid Transit Public-Private Partnership (PPP) are now complete.

"The interviews were extremely informative," said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair. "It is time now to review the information we have gathered to date and work toward selecting a rapid transit partner before the end of May."

All five groups York Consortium 2002, SNC-Lavalin Engineers & Contractors Inc., FastRide Consortium, York Region Rapid Transit Consortium and TEC Consortium have extensive experience in planning, financing, designing and building major projects. The PPP will harness the Region's public sector management skills and the competitive and technological edge of the private sector.

York Region wants the PPP to help fast track its inter-regional rapid transit plan. A first in Canada, the joint venture is a collaborative effort between the Region and the municipalities of Markham, Richmond Hill and Vaughan, focusing on links with transit systems in the City of Toronto and the Regions of Peel and Durham.

Scores from the first round of interviews will now be confirmed and reviewed, while some further questions for the proponents will be finalized. Proponent responses are due by the end of April, when they will be reviewed and a second set of scores tallied. If necessary, second round interviews will be conducted before a rapid transit partner is chosen.

A strategy to develop a York Region Rapid Transit System is the heart of the Transportation Master Plan (TMP) for York Region. The TMP is a 30-year action plan that addresses transportation needs in York Region and across Greater Toronto.

To review a Fact Sheet on the York Rapid Transit Plan, a Backgrounder on the York Region Transit Plan PPP, Fact Facts on York Region transportation issues, or for more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top