April 08, 2002

City of Vaughan Mayor Lorna Jackson remembered for significant contribution to York Region


NEWMARKET City of Vaughan Mayor Lorna Jackson is being remembered today for her tremendous record of public service, exceptional leadership qualities, a sincere dedication to her constituents and a long-standing drive to improve the quality of life for her municipality and the Region of York.

Ms. Jackson passed away last weekend following a courageous battle with cancer.

"Lorna's passing is a terrible loss for the residents of Vaughan and all the citizens of York Region," said Bill Fisch, Regional Chair. "However, she will be remembered for her significant contributions in Vaughan and throughout the Region. Lorna imprinted her stamp on York Regional Council. I appreciated her expertise and guidance, but I will miss her friendship and smile more."

Ms. Jackson spent more than 23 years on York Regional Council, first as a Vaughan Regional Councillor for two years prior to becoming City of Vaughan Mayor. She sat on various Regional Committees, including Health, Finance, Planning and Economic Development.

In addition, Ms. Jackson was a former Chair of the York Regional Police Services Board and a member of the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority.

"I will miss working with Lorna. Her enthusiasm and commitment was truly remarkable," said Alan Wells, Chief Administrative Officer for York Region. "Her fervour to help the City of Vaughan grow also proved to be a great benefit for the Region."

Public visitation continues today in the Council Chambers of the City of Vaughan Civic Centre from 12 noon to 9 p.m. A funeral service will be held in the Council Chambers tomorrow at 11 a.m. To accommodate the large number of people expected to attend the funeral, live broadcasts will be available at community centres in Vaughan, as well as at the York Region Administrative Centre in Newmarket, in Council Chambers and the Great Hall.

For more information on the Regional Municipality of York, the services we offer and links to our nine area municipalities, please visit our Web site at www.region.york.on.ca

The Regional Municipality of York is committed to providing cost-effective, quality services that respond to the needs of our rapidly growing communities.  York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities:  Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville.  For more information, visit our Web site at:  www.region.york.on.ca

Contact: Patrick Casey, Senior Media Relations Specialist, York Region

Back to top